So, this week in teaching has been a challenge as I have a few mentally retarded kids in my classroom, and I’m not sure how to effectively make sure they are included in all that we are doing in the project, and yet not spend so much time catering to their needs that I end up ignoring the kids who have very real talent evident.  It’s an age-old question for teachers I suppose, and I am still working it out for myself.  I wish there was some sort of place to ask practical questions.  I wonder of the Ohio MRDD would have any answers for me!

Anyways, there’s a scholastic book sale going on this week and I heard about a book series on artists that I have never seen before.  They are small books about each artists’ life aimed at younger kids.  They are written by Christians, and so they avoid any of the details that often accompany artist’s lives that aren’t appropriate for little ones.  I look forward to buying some for my classroom!

